The Intercollegiate Tennis Association

ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame
Class of 2007

Eleven new ITA Hall of Fame members will be inducted May 23 in ceremonies in Athens, Ga., during the 2007 NCAA Championships. The Class of 2007 includes eight players, two coaches and one contributor.
  • Steve Bryan (Texas) - 1990 NCAA singles champion...Two-time ITA All-American (1989-90)...1990 ITA National Player of the Year.
  • Harry Likas, Jr. (San Francisco) - 1948 NCAA singles champion...1947 NCAA doubles semifinalist...No. 10 U.S. singles 1948-52.
  • Matt Lucena (California) - Three-time ITA All-American (1990-92)...Won record 5 national doubles titles (1989 ITA All-American, 1990-91 ITA National Indoor and 1990-91 NCAA).
  • Todd Martin (Northwestern) - ITA National Indoor singles champion 1990...ITA All-America honors in 1990...Australian Open singles finalist in 1994 and U.S. Open singles finalist in 1999...Member U.S. Davis Cup champion team in 1995.
  • Allen Miller (Georgia) - Four-time ITA All-American (1982-85)...1982 ITA National Indoor doubles champion...1983 NCAA doubles champion.
  • Alex O'Brien (Stanford) - Four-time ITA All-American (1989-92)...1992 NCAA singles and doubles champ; won "triple crown" as part of NCAA team champion same season...1995 U.S. Open doubles finalist...U.S. Davis Cup team in 1995 and '97.
  • Al Parker (Georgia) - Four-time ITA All-American (1988-91)...1989-90 ITA All-American singles champion...1991 ITA National Player of the Year.
  • MaliVai Washington (Michigan) - 1989 ITA National Player of the Year...Two-time ITA All-American (1988-89)...1988 ITA All-American singles champion...1989 ITA National Indoor singles champion...1996 Wimbledon singles finalist.
  • Joe Cabri (Lander) - Coached Lander to 12 national titles, including record 10 in a row from 1991-2000 (two NAIA followed by eight NCAA Division II)...Named National Coach of the Year 10 times.
  • Tom Parham (Atlantic Christian and Elon) - Compiled 597-195 career record from 1966-2004)...Coach three NAIA championship teams...Named National Coach of the Year four times...(Note: Atlantic Christian is now Barton College).
  • Col. John L. Beaver (Georgia) - Played No. 1 singles and doubles for UGA from 1931-33...Southern doubles champion 1930-31...At his death in 2003 he donated $125,000 to the ITA Men's Collegiate Hall of Fame.

Players are eligible for election to the ITA Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments as well as honors earned after college. College tennis legend Dan Magill serves as curator for the ITA Hall of Fame, which is housed at the University of Georgia.

The ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame, which includes over 1,800 rare photos, inducted its first class in 1983 and has inducted more than 160 players, coaches and contributors since then. Members include the late Arthur Ashe (UCLA), Jimmy Connors (UCLA), John McEnroe (Stanford) and Stan Smith (Southern California). The ITA Women's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame is located at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va.


Copyright 2006 Intercollegiate Tennis Association. All rights reserved.
Intercollegiate Tennis Association 174 Tamarack Circle   Skillman, NJ 08558-2021
Phone: (609) 497-6920       FAX: (609) 497-9766